Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Press Release

WTA Names Encompass Digital Media’s Bill Tillson its 2012 Teleport Executive of the Year

Wednesday, February 29, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Orly Konig-Lopez
Share |
(New York, NY, February 29, 2012) – The World Teleport Association today announced that Bill Tillson, President and COO of Encompass Digital Media, has been named as its 2012 Teleport Executive of the Year. Mr. Tillson will be honored during WTA’s Teleport Awards for Excellence luncheon on March 13 during SATELLITE 2012. The Teleport Executive of the Year award is presented to an individual for demonstrated entrepreneurship, leadership and innovation in the development or operation of a teleport-based business.

Encompass Digital Media is the product of a series of acquisitions and strategic alignments by Mr. Tillson and Encompass CEO Simon Bax, beginning with the purchase of Andrita Studios in Los Angeles. Moving rapidly, the venture-funded team acquired Crawford Communications near Atlanta from its legendary owner, Jesse Crawford and the content distribution assets and business of Ascent Media to create a teleport operator and digital media services company with a global footprint. The company has also expanded its horizons beyond sports, media and entertainment by launching a government solutions unit that provides commercial satellite communications services for civilian government and military sectors including federal, state and local agencies.
"The history of mergers is littered with false hopes,” said WTA executive director Robert Bell, "and our industry is no exception. But skilled execution and relentless focus by Bill and the team he leads have kept Encompass delivering on its promises to customers.”

During this 2012 Teleport Awards for Excellence luncheon ceremony, sponsored by SES, WTA will also honor its Independent Teleport of the Year and Teleport Technology of the Year. The luncheon begins at noon on the 13th of March and is free to WTA members who register. Attendance is also available on a paid basis to non-members. Registration is available online at

Mr. Tillson joins a prestigious list of Teleport Executive of the Year alumni, including Adrian Ballintine, Founder and president of NewSat Ltd., Jaime Dickinson, President of NewCom International; Doug Tutt, Chief Operating Officer and President of Global Energy Services, CapRock Communications; the late Kenneth Miller, President and Chief Operating Officer, Globecomm Systems; David Rivel, Founder & CEO, RRsat Global Communications Network; Nick Thompson, Managing Director, Arqiva Broadcast & Media; Brent J. Gale, Vice President of Satellite and Broadcast Operations, EchoStar; and Norberto Alvarez Vitale, President, Teleport Internacional Buenos Aires. Click here for a complete list.

About World Teleport Association
Since 1985, the World Teleport Association has focused on improving the business of satellite communications from the ground up. At the core of its membership are the world's most innovative operators of teleports, from independents to multinationals, niche service providers to global carriers. WTA is dedicated to advocating for the interests of teleport operators in the global telecommunications market and promoting excellence in teleport business practice, technology and operations.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal